Just a Side and the Biggest Pork Chop I’ve Ever Seen

Sauteed Green Beans and Mushrooms

http://www.marthastewart.com/326520/sauteed-green-beans-and-mushrooms

September 2007, pg. 117

image

Seriously?!?!?! Have you ever seen a pork chop that big?!

So. Things I adore about this side dish:  Mushrooms. Shallots. And it tastes like green bean casserole without all the extra fat and heavy cream.

The first thing I have to say is that I really wish I had been cooking with shallots more in the past.  They are really delicious!  And so much more subtle than onions and they give you a hint of garlic as well.  I’m so happy that I was able to appreciate how awesome they are in this dish and will be sure to keep them stocked in my pantry from now on.

I did cheat a little with this one and I used frozen french cut green beans.  I do buy fresh from time to time, but I have to say that green beans are one of the few vegetables I almost always buy frozen.  Frozen green beans are so easy and they really taste no different than the fresh.  I also used cremini mushrooms because I pretty much always use cremini mushrooms.  I think white button mushrooms are nearly flavorless and avoid them as much as possible.

I highly recommend this side and will keep it in mind whenever I am craving green beans in the future.

Next up: Marsala Chicken with Sage and Cremini Mushrooms and Peas and Carrot Ribbons

Leave a Reply

