Turkey and Vegetable Hand Pies with Garlic-Roasted Tomatoes

www.marthastewart.com/313340/turkey-and-vegetable-hand-pies

www.marthastewart.com/312499/garlic-roasted-tomatoes

September 2007, pg. 117 & 150

image

Let me just start off by saying that I find the idea of a Hot Pocket highly appealing.  When that pastry pouch happens to be filled with deliciously savory and relatively healthy homemade filling, I find them nearly irresistible.  For the most part, the Turkey and Vegetable Hand Pie recipe did not disappoint.  The pastry dough is light and flaky and the filling is good enough to eat on its own (I did, by the way).

I have made this recipe before and I remembered the first time the “sauce” was so runny it was pretty much impossible for it to stay in the necessary places while folding and sealing the pastry.  This time around I decided to add just a small amount of flour to the mix so it would be ever so slightly thicker.  A tablespoon did it for me and it worked like a charm.  I was able to keep the sauce from running all over long enough to seal the yummy goodness into its pastry blanket.

The only complaint I have about the final product is that it tends to be a little dry (even with the sauce adjustments made).  When I studied abroad in France, my host family, especially my sisters, would put creme fraiche on just about everything.  I believe that might be the perfect remedy to this dish.  Just a little drizzled on top right before you eat would be the perfect addition of moist creaminess.

I served these with the Garlic-Roasted Tomatoes, another recipe I have made before.  The beauty of this recipe is that it is so incredibly simply, yet incredibly flavorful and tasty.  I think recipe would perfect to fall back on as perfectly ripe tomatoes get harder to find.  While it is awesome with ripe tomatoes, I think this recipe could salvage the awful tomatoes that are the only tomatoes available in the middle of winter.  I will definitely be keeping this recipe on standby for the future.

Leave a Reply

