Apple-Cinnamon Upside-Down Cake

www.marthastewart.com/312862/apple-cinnamon-upside-down-cake

September 2007, pg. 119

Let me just start this post by telling you that I am a big time baker.  I started baking (mostly pies) when I was around 12 or 13.  My dad still asks me to make apple pie whenever I spend Thanksgiving or Christmas with him.  I also don’t tend to shy away from recipes because they look too complicated or involved.  As a result, I consider myself a pretty experienced home baker.  However, I have never made a cake like this.  AND boy was it worth it!

First and foremost, the smell was just incredible.  Even as a batter you could tell it was going to be the perfect fall treat.  Once it started baking, the smell of cinnamon (so much cinnamon!!) and apple permeated the apartment.  You could also smell hints of the caramel-y brown sugar.

Once it was out of the oven and cool enough to flip, it came out of the pan perfectly.  This is one of the few instances so far where I honestly believe my finished product looks even better than the one in the magazine.

image

Look at how perfect and glossy and gooey that is!!! We chose to eat it warm with just a little bit of home made whipped cream.

image

I think this is the perfect sort of recipe to entertain with.  It was relatively simple to create, the most involved part was fanning out the apple slices on top of the brown sugar and butter mixture.  But it was just so beautiful and decadent looking.  I’m pretty sure that’s what you call “wow factor”!

I’m excited how this project is making me branch out from my normal cooking and baking patterns.  There is so much more to discover!

One thought on “Apple-Cinnamon Upside-Down Cake

Leave a Reply

