Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Herbed Couscous

www.marthastewart.com/338178/chicken-breasts-stuffed-with-herbed-cous

September 2007, pg. 105

Ok folks, there are many types of things that I would recommend stuffing inside a chicken breast.  Asparagus with tomato, basil and fontina: Absolutely! Ham and Cheddar: Fabulous! Herbed Couscous: No thanks!

It’s not that it didn’t taste good.  Because honestly it was tasty, but it was such a pain to prepare and cook that it really wasn’t worth it.

image

I served it with the Quick-Marinated Yellow Squash Salad. More to follow on that in a later post.

First of all, couscous is not easy to jam inside a small slit on a chicken breast.  I much prefer a stuffing method that more or less involves butterflying a chicken breast and then wrapping it around the fillings.  Shoving tiny little beads of pasta inside a meat pocket is not so convenient.

I don’t mind going out of my way to use intricate methods in my cooking if it actually improves the final product, but this just resulted in a caked together lump of couscous instead of the soft and fluffy type I love.

I also found the herb options a little dull for my tastes so instead I used diced prunes (That’s right! Don’t knock ’em until you’ve tried ’em!) and toasted almond slices.  That on its own was delicious and I think next to a nice sautéed chicken breast would have been lovely, but no, I had to stuff it inside.

Not only did I not like the outcome, the stuffing made it so much harder to judge when it was finished cooking.  I can usually tell with chicken by poking it (I cook a lot of chicken) but I resorted to the quick-read thermometer with this and it still somehow managed to be undercooked!

Needless to say, this is not a recipe I plan on making again.   Oh well, on to my next experiment: Marinated Bocconcini!

Leave a Reply

