Mac and Cheese!!! (This is one cheesy post)

www.marthastewart.com/313113/macaroni-and-three-cheeses

September 2007, pg. 116

One thing that Everyday Food does often and does well is mac and cheese.  Loads of variations of mac and cheese.  I’ve never tested the theory, but I suspect there is some form of cheesy baked noodle dish in just about every issue.  No complaints here!

Can you tell it's still bubbling?

Can you tell it’s still bubbling?

While I love mac and cheese, I’m usually too lazy to make it from scratch.  It’s not hard or anything, I just struggle to wait for the baking portion to be over to indulge in the cheesy goodness.  So this was a nice change.  And yes, I still couldn’t wait, so I saved a few noodles from the oven so I could do a quality assurance test (a must when there is cheese involved).

While the recipe says you can mix and match your favorite three cheeses, I actually stuck with the original suggestions and used white cheddar (can you get any other kind in VT?), havarti, and muenster. I’m glad I did!  I had forgotten how much I love muenster!!

I did make two slight alterations to the recipe.  I used cavatappi instead of shells and I used crushed buttery crackers instead of bread crumbs, mostly due to laziness again. I already had to wait for the cheesy delight to come out of the oven, I wasn’t going to delay it going in by having to process bread crumbs.

*Small side note on pasta choice.  The bear and I have recently discovered De Cecco pastas.  They are expensive for boxed pasta, but they are sooo worth it.  The texture is so much closer to fresh pasta its unbelievable.  We try to stock up whenever we can catch a sale.  Give it a try if you can.

Anyway, I waited so very patiently and the outcome was great.  It tasted even better the next day!  I would say I plan to make this again, but there are always so many mac and cheese options I suspect I won’t need to do a repeat!

One thought on “Mac and Cheese!!! (This is one cheesy post)

  1. Pingback: Rosemary Smells Like Christmas!!! | Cooking The Stripes

Leave a Reply

