No, YOU make the lame pizzas!

Mini spinach and cheese pizzas

I'm no food critic, but I know what I hate.  And I don't hate this.

I’m no food critic, but I know what I hate. And I don’t hate this.

B and I fought over this one and not in a good way.  We both strongly believed that it was the least inspiring recipe in the entire issue.  I thought it looked like the kind of junk meal that I come up with when I’m feeling lazy and I need to use up a bunch of ingredients.  B theorized that it was in the issue because this is Lucinda Scala Quinn’s “feeling lazy” recipe.  I fell on my sword and made it, reluctantly.  It’s worse than that.  D made it for me.

But.  But!  We were wrong about these pizzas.  They aren’t mind-blowing, but they aren’t bad either.  I think D came up with the secret.  He added way more garlic.  The recipe calls for 1 clove of garlic crushed through a press.  That is combined with ricotta and oregano and spread on the split pitas before you top them with spinach and the mozzarella balls.  D probably added 3 cloves of garlic.  I knew I married that guy for a reason.  It made all the difference.  It took it from a bland pizza-like mass, to a garlicky pizza-like mass.  Will I make it again?  Probably not, but it wasn’t anything to dread.

This recipe, like pretty much all of the bocconcini recipes begs an important question, “Why do I need to buy these fussy little cheese balls?”  They are more expensive than buying a ball of fresh mozzarella, and they taste the same.  If you want to try one of these recipes, just buy a big ball of fresh mozzarella and cut it into cubes.  It’s not as picturesque, but neither is this recipe, if we’re being honest.

Leave a Reply

