Healthy Oatmeal Cookies

www.marthastewart.com/315977/healthy-oatmeal-cookies

September 2007, pg. 58

Image

 

I have to admit that once again, I went rogue on this recipe.  The first major issue was that the recipe did not call for cinnamon.  I mean, who ever heard of an oatmeal cookie that didn’t have cinnamon?  I had to remedy that.  I added a teaspoon.  Second, I added craisins instead of raisins or dried currants.  Third, I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil.  And finally, I used the quick-cooking oats.  Mostly because I was half way through the recipe before realizing I had the wrong oats.

I noticed that my dough yielded far fewer cookies than the recipe claims.  It says it makes 18 – 20 and I got 13.  I would also say that I was a little conservative on the two tablespoon size cookie balls. If I hadn’t been I might have gotten 10?  Maybe this is all an issue because I used the wrong oats but it is hard to say.  

Once they were out of the oven, I did enjoy them.  I had mine with a nice cup of ginger tea.  I wouldn’t say they are better than standard butter filled oatmeal cookies, but they were pretty tasty for being “healthy”.

Leave a Reply

