We’re bloggers!!! (And I make Spiced Chickpea and Zucchini Sauté)

That’s right! We have officially finished with our first issue of Everyday Food!  I think it is safe to say we are officially bloggers now.  It didn’t quite feel real before…

The next issue we selected is Issue 6, October 2003.  It’s a good one, so stick around!

We have learned a few things since starting.  First of all, there are occasionally recipes that are really hard to make yourself cook. Not because they don’t look tasty, but maybe they require an absurd amount of fresh produce (hello, fresh tomato sauce!) or maybe they involve making enough cupcakes to feed a small army.  Either way, some recipes are harder to get to than others.  So, to prevent a stall out this month, we are attempting to tackle our least tempting recipes first.

Which leads me to Spiced Chickpea and Zucchini Sauté.

IMG_0701

Ok, ok I said the recipes we struggled with weren’t because of a tastiness factor.  That in some instances is a lie.  I was in no way tempted to make this sauté.  Not because of the flavor profile, but because of the chickpeas.  Unless they are ground into a hummus or chunked up in a falafel, I have no desire to eat chickpeas.  They are so grainy!

Anyway, I decided to take one for the team and knock this out straightaway.  I couldn’t have been more shocked by the outcome! The seasonings create a sort of North African vibe (which I love!) much like those in a traditional tagine recipe.  And miraculously, all that simmering turns the chickpeas into a smooth, almost velvety texture in your mouth.  I went back for seconds! Who knew I could love a chickpea in its original form?! I definitely plan to make this again, but I may need to wait for zucchini to come back into season.  (Insert sad trombone sound here…)

Hooray for chickpeas!!!

Leave a Reply

