Zucchini Spice Bread Gone Wrong… Sort Of…

Doesn't that look autumnal?  It smells autumnal...

Doesn’t that look autumnal? It smells autumnal…

So once again, we have stumbled onto something I have never baked before.  I tend to go for banana bread personally (usually because I fail to eat all the bananas I purchased and need to do something with the remainder!).  I also wasn’t sure I would love the Zucchini Spice Bread recipe so I decided to get it out of the way quickly.

For the most part, I was pleasantly surprised.  The combination of spices is just so delicious smelling (and tasting).  I baked this on one of the first pretty chilly days we had here so I had the added warmth from the oven and the lovely spices wafting around.  It was so cozy that I had to go throw on some knee socks to really get the effect I was going for (I have a thing for knee socks).

I followed the recipe pretty exactly, except I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil.

I let it bake for 50 minutes.  I inserted a toothpick into the center and it came out clean.  I let it cool in the pan for a bit.  When I returned to the kitchen it had collapsed! Somehow that darn toothpick test got the best of me and it was still a bit doughy in the middle.  I didn’t discover exactly how doughy until I had cut into it and I ended up trying to finish the baking process in the microwave.  As a result the texture was not quite as glorious but the flavor was still pretty awesome.  So when you bake this, because you should, maybe do a double or triple toothpick test to make sure it is really done!!

Leave a Reply

