My, oh my! Pear Custard Pie!!

There are two things you will probably notice while we post about the October 2003 issue.  Number one, it is filled with pears.  Number two, it is filled with desserts.  This post encompasses both of those themes.

Mmm...

Mmm…

The custard pie in this issue gets its flavor from vanilla and pears.  I got a little fancy and used my vanilla sugar (yay!).

It’s a pretty simple recipe.  And the use of the blender is a huge time saver.  The most time consuming part was peeling and artfully arranging the pears in the pie plate.

It smelled so good in the oven it was hard not to just pull it out and start eating it like a soup.  I waited patiently.  I even waited for it to cool a bit.  I did not, however, wait to cover it in powdered sugar.  Who needs powdered sugar when there is custardy goodness waiting to be devoured?! (Have I mentioned that I am a sucker for custards… you’ll learn this about me.)

It was heavenly.  You could taste the eggy smoothness along with the overwhelming (in the best way possible) vanilla and then there was just enough pear to refresh your palette from the richness.  I loved it!

 

Leave a Reply

