Shortbread Wedges

Shortbread Wedges

http://www.marthastewart.com/336979/shortbread-wedges

October 2003, pg. 144

Shortbread wedge

I LOVE shortbread.  Butter.  Sugar.  Honestly, what isn’t there to love about this simply delicious snack?  My love of shortbread began when I worked at the coffee shop in Brewer Bookstore at St. Lawrence University.  They had shortbread for a quarter.  Whether I was in the mood for plain, chocolate chip, and/or pecan, the buttery goodness let me step away from my ever so stressful undergraduate life.  Plus they sat on the counter calling my name.

I decided to whip-up a quick batch of the shortbread wedges this morning.  Letting the butter sit at room temperature, I watched ‘Meet the Press’ for an hour.  After I was done drinking coffee and watching some news, I creamed some butter.  Mixed the sugar and flour with the butter and put the crumbly dough in an 8-inch springform pan.  I thought I was being clever with the pan choice.  There was no need.  A half-pound of butter isn’t going to let a cup of flour and a third cup of sugar stick to anything.  I attempted crimping the edges with a fork and failed.  The top layer of dough was flaking off and I probably should have chilled the dough for a full 10 minutes like the recipe suggested.  ‘Hindsight is 20/20.’

I cooked the shortbread for 35 minutes to ensure the center was firm.  The edges of the shortbread did start to brown, so I laid foil over the pan for the last 5 minutes of baking.  This is where I digress for a moment and explain my kitchen and oven.

I currently live in an old gristmill built before 1800.  A well-known interior designer bought the severely neglected mill in the 1950’s and turned it into three apartments.  My husband and I rent what was the old gear room.  NOT a traditional living space.  Our kitchen is about 6’x 5’ including the sink, counter, and oven.  As you can imagine such a small kitchen can only fit a small oven.  The oven doesn’t have a glass window.  So I need to open the door, which lets heat out, every time I want to check on the cooking item.  The temperature control knob does not have any temperatures on it.  I had to buy a thermometer to put in the oven so I know what the temperature is.  Requiring me to open the door more frequently.  Lastly, there is not a tight seal on the oven door and it’s so small the temperature is not consistent.  Now you know what I am dealing with.

Oven

After letting the shortbread cool completely I removed the shortbread from pan.  I was able to break this delicious treat into the 8 wedges, no need for a serrated knife.  Scoring the shortbread worked perfectly.

The shortbread wedges were a success.  Not perfect, but delicious buttery snack!  They almost melted in my mouth.  They had a flaky texture when I was expecting a crumbly texture.   I may not have creamed the butter long enough or I may try creaming the butter and sugar together and then adding the flour.  My husband and I both prefer thicker shortbread.  The next time I bake shortbread wedges I will use a smaller pan.  A piece of advice: Only eat one wedge at a sitting.  Your stomach may be yelling, “Too much butter.”  If you go back for seconds, as mine did.  But they were just so darn good!

One thought on “Shortbread Wedges

  1. Pingback: And Another Dessert! | Cooking The Stripes

Leave a Reply

