Tortilla and Black Bean Pie

I didn’t have terribly high expectations when I saw the recipe for Tortilla and Black Bean Pie. But I figured it has cheese and black beans and corn so how bad could it be really?!

I didn't trim the tortillas as suggested in the recipe and look how pretty they bake up on the edges!

I didn’t trim the tortillas as suggested in the recipe and look how pretty they bake up on the edges!

I think even if my expectations had been much higher, I would have been pleased with the outcome.  Somehow when the beans and tortillas and cheese bake together they make an incredibly satisfying texture.  And since I already knew the flavor would be decent because of the beans and cheese, the total package was awesome.

The sweetness of the corn was perfect with the savoriness of the black beans and garlic and cumin.  I don’t love a lot of spicy heat in my food so I replaced the jalapeño with green chiles and their flavor complimented the overall recipe very well.  I served it with a dollop of sour cream.

We both went back for seconds!

We both went back for seconds!

I WILL be making this again.

Leave a Reply

