Rye-Crusted Pork Medallions and Red Cabbage with Apple

Rye-Crusted Pork Medallions

Red Cabbage with Apple

October 2003, pgs. 79 & 91

IMG_0758

Coming from a German background, this kind of dish is very familiar to me.  My mom has made red cabbage since I was a kid.  She always wings it (this is true of most things she makes but somehow they usually taste pretty darn good), but this recipe tastes a lot like hers.

There is just enough bacon to make the dish taste rich and meaty and there is just enough vinegar to cut the richness and round out the flavor profile.  You hardly notice the apple to be perfectly honest, but I like the idea of having some extra nutrients in there.

The other thing I really like about the cabbage is the color.  It’s so pretty.  And everyone knows you are supposed to eat all the colors of the rainbow!  How many opportunities do you have to eat burgundy!? (I said eat, not drink!).  If you have never given red cabbage a shot, you should really consider this recipe.  It is very simple and it really is delicious!

On to the pork! The pork was good.  I liked the flavor added by the rye bread rather than just plain bread crumbs.  I did not like the fact that the breading refused to stay on my pork.  Maybe I should have dried the crumbs out a bit.  I think they might have held on to the egg better if they weren’t still so moist on their own.  Every time I would flip one over, the just-browned crust stayed in the pan without the pork.  Luckily, I was able to scrape it up in one piece in most instances and place it back onto the pork so the idea of the crust was still there even though it was more of a blanket by the time we ate it.  But like I said, the flavor was good.  Really good when in conjunction with the red cabbage.  Definitely make them both, just perhaps let your bread crumbs sit out for an hour or so before you start cooking.

Leave a Reply

