White Bean Dip. It’s Hummus… But Not…

White Bean Dip with Toasted Pita Chips

October 2003, pg. 38

Look! I took a photo with adequate lighting!!

Look! I took a photo with adequate lighting!!

I decided to make this on a Saturday afternoon.  And yes, it was good.  But as the title says, it pretty much tasted like hummus.  The only thing is, I like other flavors in my hummus as well, like garlic, or roasted red pepper, or kalamata olives, or well pretty much anything.  This just fell a little flat in comparison.  I also have gotten used to the Stacy’s Pita Chips which have the perfect amount of salt (I also really enjoy their garlic parmesan flavor) so these fell a tiny bit flat in comparison as well.

The one aspect of this dip that I did really like was how fast it was.  You don’t have to “food process” (that’s a verb right?!) it as long as you do chickpeas to get a nice smooth texture.  I also really liked how nice and bright the lemon juice was.  All in all, it was a pretty decent snack.  I would totally be on board to make it again, but I would probably add something else to make it a bit more flavorful.  I think parmesan would be a good and easy addition.

Has anyone else made a white bean dip before?  Have you found it to be a little less thrilling than hummus?

Leave a Reply

