Healthy Meat Lasagna! (Made even healthier!!)

Healthy Meat Lasagna

Mmm... So healthy...

Mmm… So healthy…

So I haven’t really mentioned this before, but I’m not a beef eater.  When I was in 8th grade, I thought cows were pretty awesome (I also thought they tasted awesome at the time).  Since I thought they were adorable, I started to feel bad about eating them.  I then started to feel bad about eating pigs and chickens too, so I was full on vegetarian for a while.  (My love of bacon ended that one…). Anyway, after I started eating bacon, and ham, and pork chops, I also started eating chicken again.  Somehow, I held out on the beef for years.  Now, I have tried to add it back in but now I can’t stand the taste.  The pure beefy-ness is too much.  I’m going to continue my attempts to add it back in, but I’m not sure I’ll ever really love it again.

Needless to say, I did not make this with beef.  I made it with turkey. It was quite tasty.  I also think you could very easily make this without any meat by replacing the ground meat with nice meaty cremini mushrooms.

One thing that may be a little unrealistic about the recipe is the call for whole wheat lasagna noodles.  I had to search three different stores, (including a health food store!) and ended up buying something that claimed to be a lower carb noodle which I took to mean had more whole grains.  I don’t know if the search for the right noodles was really worth it.  Isn’t the turkey and eggplant enough?

All in all, it did taste really good.  I think I need to end this post so I can go warm it up for lunch!

Leave a Reply

