Dinner You Really Can Make in 15 Minutes!!!

One irksome problem that I am finding with the November 2007 issue… lots of recipes that are not online.  Luckily this one is super simple and I can relate to you easily.

Salmon Steaks (or filets) with White-Bean and Olive Saute

*adapted from page 144, November 2007, issue 47

image

Here’s the deal:

Take your salmon (we were cooking for two, but the recipe is based on serving four) drizzle them with olive oil, salt and pepper and pop them under your broiler.  My broiler is underneath my stove so I just made a little “pan” out of aluminum foil and slid them in.  The recipe suggests you line your pan with aluminum foil anyway.  I set the timer for 10 minutes, but I took them out after 9 because they were nice and opaque and getting a lovely golden crust.

Right after you put your fish in the broiler, open a can (or two) of cannellini beans and rinse them.  Add some olive oil to a frying pan and toss the rinsed beans in.  Add in a good handful of kalamata olives as you go.  I cut them in half  to spread the salty goodness.  Then I cut a lemon in half and one half of that into wedges.

After the 9 minutes, I took out the salmon and squeezed the lemon half into the bean and olive mix.  Then that was it!  I plated it up and served the fish with the lemon wedges.

I opted to go with salmon filets rather than steaks because the fish monger kindly informed me as I was trying to make up my mind that the steaks still had bones.  Obvious decision.

The end result, which literally took 12ish minutes was really good.  The fish was perfectly cooked.  It had a nice crust, but the fish inside was super moist and flaky.  The bean and olive mixture wasn’t anything that special but it also took less than 10 minutes to complete, so you can’t really complain.  I think maybe a little diced tomato and garlic might have gone along nicely with it.

Leave a Reply

