Gingerbread cookies

December 2011, pg. 104

Gingerbread bells recipe

Gingerbread Cookies

Gingerbread cookies are a classic holiday cookie that I thoroughly enjoy eating!  I made the cookies the day we going to our friends’ house for dinner because P and I didn’t need 3 dozen gingerbread cookies to ourselves.  I also wasn’t going to make 3 dozen gingerbread bells.  BORING.  I used several different cookie cutters for the cookies.

I burned the first batch of cookies that I baked for 14 minutes like the recipe said.  The rest of the cookies I baked for a total of 10 minutes.   After cooling the cookies, P and I tried a plain gingerbread cookie and we both decided the same thing.  They tasted good but were very hard.  This would be a good recipe for those who want to make gingerbread houses.  I’m going to stick with my other gingerbread cookie recipe that results in a softer cookie.

I was not a fan of the frosting ingredients.  I don’t use pasteurized egg whites and didn’t want to buy them.  I did a little research on how to pasteurize eggs and decided I would try to pasteurize the eggs myself.  It seemed pretty easy, but it would take some time and quite a few eggs.  I thought I would have plenty of time to make the frosting but P and I decided to do some Christmas shopping (which always takes longer than expected), and our friends said dinner was going to be at 6 o’clock (I was expecting a 7 o’clock).  So, I didn’t have the opportunity to make the frosting in the December 2011 issue.  I went with an easy and delicious butter cream frosting.  I don’t even measure the ingredients anymore.  A little bit of vanilla, a tablespoon of butter, milk and confectioners’ sugar.  The gingerbread cookies got some frosting and sprinkles.  Nothing fancy.  Time just disappears during the holidays.

Our friends liked the cookies.  They were all gone by the end of the night.  They were still hard but they tasted good and the frosting was delicious.  This was a one-time only recipe for me.

Leave a Reply

