Gluten-free pound cake with cranberries

December 2011, pg. 70

Gluten-free pound cake with cranberries recipe

Gluten Free pound cake

I rarely make gluten free sweets, but more and more people are staying away from gluten for different reasons.  There is no time like the present to try out a new recipe that is gluten-free.

I bought Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free All-Purpose Baking Flour.  I think it was my only choice, or maybe it was the only brand I recognized (I don’t remember).  Any how I didn’t realize that the December 2011 issue did a taste test with several gluten-free flours and published their thoughts on pg. 64, until I was in the process of making the pound cake.  I read the taste test for the gluten-free flour I purchased.  “…the flavor tasted slightly off in sweets; save it for pancakes or crackers.  The texture of the items we tested was spot-on when we added xanthan gum, as the package suggests.”  After reading that I was positive my pound cake was doomed because I chose and/or bought the wrong flour for sweets and I most definitely didn’t have any xanthan gum laying around my kitchen. DARN.

I continued mixing together the ingredients and my attitude began shifting to a more positive one.  The batter smelled amazing.  The orange zest really kicked it up a notch.  The batter looked delicious with the dried cranberries and chopped pecans.  How was it going to taste?

I ended up putting foil over the pan because it was beginning to brown too quickly.  I took the pound cake out of the oven after 1 hour and 5 minutes and it was browner than I would have liked it to be.  Now I’m back to thinking the pound cake was a flop…

It was a flop.  It did taste good but the texture was all off.  My husband tried it first and he said it was dry and the texture was strange.  I decided to toast mine and add some butter.  I didn’t help, the pound cake dissolved in my mouth.  Not something I was expecting or enjoyed.  The pound cake went into the trash.

Lesson learned: Pay attention to the taste tests when using new and unfamiliar ingredients.  Who knows how it would have turned out if I added xanthan gum or used a gluten-free flour that was recommended for sweets?  It really did smell and the inside looked delicious!

Gluten free pound cake Inside

2 thoughts on “Gluten-free pound cake with cranberries

  1. Pingback: Cranberry Almond Cake – Gluten Free

Leave a Reply

