Chocolate-Peppermint Thumbprints

Chocolate-Peppermint Thumbprints

This photo would have been wildly appropriate if I had managed to write this post even reasonably close to when I baked these cookies...

This photo would have been wildly appropriate if I had managed to write this post even reasonably close to when I baked these cookies…

So these cookies were pretty easy to make.  The most tedious part was actually rolling the dozens of little balls that become the cookies.  I also found it curious how under baked they looked when they came out.  (The directions said it was ok and even desired so I ran with it).

All in all, the cookies were pretty tasty.  The chocolate cookie part itself is very slightly salty but it goes along well with the peppermint and the cookies stay nice and soft and super poppable (as in pop them right in your mouth!)

I’ve made chocolate peppermint EF cookies before (they were basically thin mints, yum!) so I had very high standards for these thumbprints.  These didn’t quite live up to my expectations (trust me, those thin mints were probably the best cookie I’ve ever made – I had them at a party and people were stuffing them in their coat pockets so they could take some home before they were all eaten). 

Something about the peppermint amount wasn’t quite perfect in my apparently very elitist opinion.  (Maybe I just need to upgrade my peppermint extract.)They were however, very good.  The bear ate loads of them.  So if you are in the mood for some post-season Christmas cookies, give these a try!

Leave a Reply

