Sandwich cookies.

Heart Sandwich Cookies, January/February 2010, pg.124

heart sandwich cookies

I was more than happy to make another dessert/snack that required rolled oats!  (I’m almost down to one container.)  I also thought these cookies would be perfect to mail to my brother for his birthday.  He’s a very busy person who eats at least 3 forms of peanut butter and jelly everyday.  Since, his cabinets are full of different jellies, hazelnut spread, peanut butter, almond butter, etc., (If you are going to eat three PB&J’s a day, you need variety!) I left the sandwich filling up to him.

The heart sandwich cookies were very easy to make.  I did use dark brown sugar, because that’s what I had.  The dough was a little darker than those in the Everyday Food issue, but the taste probably didn’t change that much.  Holy Moly, was the dough hard after I took it out of the refrigerator!  I had to let it sit for over 30 minutes before I could roll it.  I decided not to use a heart cookie-cutter, since I would be sending the cookies to my brother.  I also had to bake the cookies longer than the recipe said.  I am to blame for that because I’m not good at rolling thin cookies.  My rolled out dough is always thicker, maybe I need to keep a ruler in the kitchen.

The final product was pretty good.  I had a plain cookie and decided it tasted a lot like shortbread.  Which makes sense since there is 1.5 sticks of butter and a decent amount of sugar in the cookies.  I did find that the cookies were a little salty.  I would recommend decreasing the amount of salt.  My husband made a grape jelly sandwich with the cookies.  He said it was good but the jelly was rather messy.  So I decided to dip the cookies in some melted semi-sweet chocolate and make some sandwiches with the melted chocolate.  The hardened chocolate went well with the cookies and prevented a gooey mess while eating the sandwich cookies.  Overall, the sandwich cookies were fine, nothing special.

Leave a Reply

