Fudgy skillet brownies

IMG_0169

I’ve been craving sweets a lot lately (probably because I can’t drink alcohol for a few more months), but starting two weeks ago I am really trying to reduce the amount of sugar I am eating. I’ve been told my fair-freckly skin puts me at higher risk for gestational diabetes. Something I don’t want to experience for several reasons….Anyways the fudgy skillet brownies looked too good to pass up!

This was a simple brownie recipe with the average brownie ingredients, which are staple in most pantries. Unfortunately, I found out the evening I was going to make the brownies that the bittersweet chocolate wasn’t a staple in my pantry anymore. So, I strayed from the recipe a little bit. I used semi-sweet chocolate and removed the ¼ cup of sugar. Other than that I stuck to the recipe, baked the brownies for about 45 minutes and let them sit for about 15 before I dug in.

The warm fudgy skillet brownies were a hit! P and I had them warm that evening and they were delicious. They came out of the cast iron skillet like perfect pie wedges and completely satisfied my sweet craving. The brownies sweetened perfectly, so using the semi-sweet chocolate and removing the sugar, worked out just fine.

IMG_0281

Later that night I cut the rest of the brownies into ‘squares’, to store them in an airtight container. The brownies didn’t come out of the skillet quite as nicely as they did earlier. Maybe these brownies are made to be ate in one sitting by a group of people!

The next day I couldn’t wait to get home and have a brownie for my afternoon snack before I walked the dog. The snack may have turned into two brownies (I have no self-control when it comes to food). The fudgy texture was very apparent the following day. I hadn’t noticed the dense texture the night before. The day old brownies had something new to bring to the table. Nothing beats a warm brownie, but a cold fudgy brownie comes pretty close.

Leave a Reply

