Scones: One of the best sweets ever!

Scones are one of my favorite things to make, and I love trying new recipes. I do have my favorite scone recipe but it changes every so often. My number one scone recipe has held its rank almost a year now. Before that, my number one held its title for three years. Will the Everyday Food, March 2009, currant scone recipe claim the number one spot?!

IMG_0269

For this recipe, I used powdered buttermilk (it doesn’t go bad), and I chose to use dried cherries instead of currants. The recipe was very easy to follow and they took no time at all to make. I think that’s another reason I like making scones: Simple Goodness.

Several years ago my mom bought me a scone pan for Christmas. Best pan ever. Worth every cent. Before the scone pan was a part of my kitchen, I had a hard time baking the scones evenly. The specialized pan has 8 metal wedges so each scone bakes evenly. You also don’t have to worry about shaping your scones. Just divide the dough into 8 relatively even balls and then squish them into one of the spaces in the pan. I would highly recommend the scone pan if you make scones frequently.

IMG_0267

I baked the scones for 15 minutes, and put them on a cooling rack as soon as they were cool enough to get out of the pan. If you leave the scones in the pan to cool, they get a bit soggy. I saved four scones for P and me, and gave the other four to our friends. Spread the sugar wealth! The cherries were an excellent choice! Blueberries are usually my scone add-in, but I am glad I tried something new. The buttermilk added a nice flavor that is lacking in scones with just milk or heavy cream. I must admit it is a pretty good scone recipe. Our friends even asked for the recipe.

The million dollar question is: Did this scone recipe become my Number 1?!……I don’t think so. However, the recipe has secured a spot in my Top 3!

Leave a Reply

