Obsession: brownie ice cream sandwich

Brownie ice cream sandwich

You were just here!

You were just here!

I think I can hear your thoughts.  You’re thinking, “Yeah.  Of course it’s good.  It’s ice cream and brownies.  We’ve all had a brownie sundae before.”  Stop right there.  You are wrong.  This is not like an ice cream sundae.  Well, at least not the way that I made it.  Take a look at that picture.  See how thin the actual brownie is?  Now take a look at the picture that Martha uses on her website:

I've got to figure out these jaunty angles...

I’ve got to figure out these jaunty angles…

Notice how thick the brownie is?  Kind of like an actual brownie, right?  Mine was more like a super crispy and thin brownie-flavored cookie, at least on the first day that I ate it.  Every day the brownie kept getting softer and softer and the sandwich kept getting better and better.  I believe mine wound up thin because I had to get creative with my pan.  I only have 18×13 quarter sheet pans/whatever you want to call them.  Cookie sheet with the lip on all sides.  How’s that?  This recipe calls for a 10×15 jelly roll pan.  Well, in order to make the surface area smaller, I created a dam of sorts with a glass loaf pan upside down on one side and a sheet of foil bumping up where loaf pan met brownie batter.  It was not perfect.  The loaf pan wasn’t as long as the sheet pan, so I kinda scooted it back and forth every time I opened the oven to check.  That helped make the brownie a little more rectangular.  Anyway, I have no regrets and I will not be rushing out to buy a new pan.  The thin brownie was great.

So here’s another question that haunts me and D: what other ice cream flavors would be good?  Mint chocolate chip was pretty perfect.  We were thinking moose tracks, but we don’t want it to get too rich.  Cookies and cream, surely.  Plain vanilla would probably be nice.  Coffee ice cream, maybe?  I think anything but plain chocolate (too weird) would be excellent.

On a related note, these ice cream sandwiches ruled my world for the one week that they were in our freezer.  Everything that happened all day long revolved around making it home to have another ice cream sandwich.  They are that good.

 

Leave a Reply

